❝You provided me with new tools to realize our brand’s mission❞

Kristen Comings
VP Consumer Engagement, It Cosmetics
Marketing

Women's Confidence

Why does women’s confidence matter? Because the more confident a woman is, the easier it is for her to act. Confidence empowers women to talk, write, raise a hand, raise a fist, get into politics or start a company. A lack of confidence can keep a woman from bringing meaningful contributions to her community and prevent her from thriving personally. And that’s a problem for everyone, because when women thrive, societies prosper.

Brief

The world is entering a crisis of self-confidence. Affecting both men and women, each in its own way. Women, however, experience this “incredible and almost unimaginable belief that anyone can succeed”, whether through new technologies, political developments, or access to education. They assume their role fully, in traditionally patriarchal societies.

As the social utility of businesses changes along with the world, make-up brand IT Cosmetics must reassess the role it plays in the everyday lives of women, by asking themselves: “what fuels self-confidence ?" What challenges do women encounter while building their self-confidence ? What cultural elements should be mobilized, in order to support the cause of women depending on the country and the market ? But above all: how can a make-up company act in a world also shaped by its products?

Method

IT Cosmetics is launching the largest initiative ever taken towards understanding, measuring and increasing the self-confidence of women around the world.

In order to understand it, we are conducting an 8-month study phase, rendering it possible to isolate 14 sources of self-confidence, constituting an anthropological typology of the forces which increase and influence it. Subsequently, over a 3 year period, we structure a network of more than 140 women to understand how the local construction of confidence takes place. We analyze the United States, France, the United Kingdom, Germany, Japan, South Korea, China, Australia, Russia and Mexico. We mobilize academic experts to help us filter out the influence of local culture, with great witnesses sharing their personal experiences.

We then conduct a study of over 10,000 women in order to measure and obtain the world’s first barometer of women’s self-confidence.

Results

As a result of this initiative, IT Cosmetics asserts itself as a cultural player and as an agent of positive change in society. Eranos produces an Academic Report and a Digest (published in March 2021), committed since the beginning to returning the data. Our initiative allows us to see where self-confidence is high and where it is low in ten countries, and more significantly, which sources weaken it on the local level, and which sources can be used as levers, in order to increase it.

We are currently working with all partners that wish to have access to the results, and to deploy the initiative locally.

More case studies

How we've been reconciling companies and society

Bounce back

Transport is not a function of the city, it's an experience
Transport is not a function of the city, it's an experience
Time
Time
The work you do matters as much as the conditions you work in
The work you do matters as much as the conditions you work in
There are no consumers, only relations
There are no consumers, only relations

❝You provided me with new tools to realize our brand’s mission❞

Kristen Comings
VP Consumer Engagement, It Cosmetics
Marketing

Comprendre, mesurer et augmenter la confiance en soi des femmes

La confiance en soi des femmes est un sujet capital. Plus une femme a confiance en elle, plus il est facile pour elle d'agir, de parler, d'écrire, de lever la main, de lever le poing, de lancer une entreprise. Un manque de confiance en soi peut empêcher une femme de contribuer à sa communauté, et l'empêcher de prospérer personnellement. Ce qui est un problème pour tout le monde, parce que quand les femmes prospèrent, la société dans son ensemble prospère.

Brief

Le monde entre dans une crise de confiance. Elle affecte à la fois les hommes et les femmes, chacun à sa manière. Mais les femmes éprouvent cette "incroyable et presque inimaginable croyance que chacun peut réussir", que ce soit grâce aux nouvelles technologies, aux évolutions politiques, ou à l'accès à l'éducation. Elles prennent pleinement leur rôle dans des sociétés traditionnellement patriarcales.

Comme l'utilité sociale des entreprises change lorsque le monde change, la marque de maquillage IT Cosmetics doit repenser le rôle qu'elle joue dans la vie de tous les jours des femmes, et se demander "qu'est-ce qui nourrit la confiance en soi ?" Quels challenges les femmes rencontrent-elles pour construire leur confiance en elle ? Quels éléments culturels doit-on mobiliser pour soutenir la cause des femmes en fonction des pays et des marchés ? Mais surtout : comment une marque de maquillage peut-elle agir dans un monde auquel elle a aussi donné forme avec ses produits ?

La méthode

IT Cosmetics lance la plus grande initiative jamais entreprise pour comprendre, mesurer et augmenter la confiance en soi des femmes dans le monde.

Pour la comprendre, nous menons phase d'étude de 8 mois, permettant d'isoler les 14 sources de la confiance en soi, constituant une typologie anthropologique des forces qui l'augmentent et qui l'affectent. Puis, sur une période de 3 ans, nous structurons un réseau de plus de 140 femmes pour comprendre comment, localement, la construction de la confiance s'exprime. Nous parcourons les Etats-Unis, la France, l'Angleterre, l'Allemagne, le Japon, la Corée, la Chine, l'Australie, la Russie et le Mexique. Nous mobilisons des experts académiques pour nous aider à débiaiser les effets de culture locale, et des grands témoins nous mettent en récit leurs expériences personnelles.

Nous menons ensuite un vaste quanti sur plus de 10000 femmes pour mesurer, obtenant le premier baromètre mondial de la confiance en soi des femmes.

Résultat

Au travers de cette initiative, IT Cosmetics s'affirme comme un acteur culturel et un agent de l'impact positif dans la société. Engagés dès le début à restituer toute la data, nous rédigeons un Rapport académique et un Digest (publiés en mars 2021). Notre initiative permet non seulement de voir, sur 10 pays, où la confiance en soi est haute et où elle est basse, mais elle permet surtout de comprendre quelle source l'amoindrit localement, et quelle source peut servir de levier pour l'augmenter.

Nous travaillons actuellement avec tous les partenaires désireux de s'approprier les résultats, et de déployer l'initiative localement.

Plus de case studies

Comment nous réconcilions l'entreprise et la société

Rebondir

Le transport n'est pas une fonction de la ville, c'est une expérience.
Le transport n'est pas une fonction de la ville, c'est une expérience.
Le travail que vous faites compte autant que la manière dont vous travaillez
Le travail que vous faites compte autant que la manière dont vous travaillez
Il n'y a pas de consommateurs, il n'y a que des relations
Il n'y a pas de consommateurs, il n'y a que des relations
Le retard est un don de temps
Le retard est un don de temps